Star Trails at Hill

Church @ Hill

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Star Trails at Hill

    • osujolly says:

      Hey Evelyn! This is something that I’ve just begun playing around with. I really like it.

      Hope you’re loving Oregon. My old stomping grounds.

  1. Molly says:

    Oh my WOW! What a truly amazing picture

    Mollyxxx

  2. Nina says:

    A great composition and effect – contrast between the warm & cozy light, the near and conrete vs. the distant, unkown and more abstract – fantastic!

  3. Kelley says:

    This sets such a magical mood. Great, great, photograph, and inspiring!

  4. Sharon says:

    Awesome! I’m wondering how long you left the shutter open to make such a shot. What fun!

    • osujolly says:

      Hey Sharon! Thanks for the comment. It was actually about 150 images… all at 5 seconds each. There was a big lit sign across the street, so I couldn’t leave it open for too long.

      I am still learning. I could have dropped the ISO down a bit and left the shutter open longer, but I’m still learning and didn’t think of it at the time.

      I hope this helps.

  5. Amazing! I’m going to have to try this. You said you had a big light across the street. Other than that, was there much light pollution? I’m wondering how far away from our town I would need to be.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • osujolly says:

      Hi Chrisine, I was only a a few miles outside of town. So there was still plenty of light. As long as you can see the stars, I believe you should be able to adjust ISO and shutter speed to compensate for it.

  6. Jamie Calvin says:

    Just have to say “Awesome”. & 150 pics? how much time did you spend putting them together, and how did you do ti?

    • osujolly says:

      Hi Jamie, it was actually that many…. There is a photoshop action that will layer them for you. It’s online. Star trail stacker or something like that.

      And depending on the size if the images it can take a long time to only a few minutes.

      Had the area been dark I could have left the shutter open a lot longer and avoided having to take so many photos.

Leave a Reply

